Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce Hosted Tenth Annual Conference for Women

  • Share:
May 02, 2018

Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce Hosted Tenth Annual Conference for Women

Annual Conference for Women Recognized Breakthrough Women, Diversity Leaders
HOUSTON (April 25, 2018) – The Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce (GHWCC) hosted its tenth annual Greater Houston Conference for Women at the Hilton Americas, 1600 Lamar Street, Houston, TX  77010, welcoming over 1000 attendees, and over $260,000.00 to support the chambers program of work.
The following influential speakers delivered their empowering personal and business insights, representing a variety of topics from leadership to entrepreneurship:
  • Carla Harris, Speaker and Best Selling Author
  • Carol Eggert, Senior Vice-President, Military and Veteran Affairs, Comcast NBC Universal Comcast Corporation
  • Sally Helgesen, Speaker and Best Selling Author on Women’s Leadership
  • Sarah Cortez, Editor, Teacher, Speaker, Texas Peace Officer & Susana Sanchez, Austin Police Officer
At the conference, GHWCC also honored twelve Breakthrough Women and the winner of the 2018 Kathryn S. Stream Award for Excellence, Karen Basen-Engquist, PhD. and the awardees of the Texas Medical Center Oral Histories Project, Dr. Peggy S. Smith and Dr. Lois J. Moore.

The following industry trailblazers were honored as GHWCC’s 2018 Breakthrough Women:
  • April Bailey, Amegy Bank
  • Elizabeth Gonzalez Brock, CenterPoint Energy
  • Amy Chronis, Deloitte
  • Giselle Rodriguez Greenwood, Houston Business Journal
  • Irene Helsinger, Newport Board Group
  • Linda Ibrahim, Vantage Drilling
  • Angela Knight, Baker Hughes, as GE Company
  • Julie Luecht, KPMG
  • Janette Marx, Airswift
  • Kimberly McKay, BKD
  • Lisa Modica, Halliburton
  • Stephanie Sherrodd, TDECU

The 12 Breakthrough Women are trailblazers in their industries and have demonstrated amazing courage and leadership in reaching their career goals. Their tributes will also be featured on vignettes to be shown on COMCAST Channels.
The annual Stream Award recognizes a Houston-area researcher, educator, practitioner or community leader with a record of achievement in advancing women’s health. The award is named for Dr. Kathryn S. Stream, a devoted women’s health advocate who retired as Senior Vice President of the Texas Medical Center in 2008.


Conference proceeds will benefit The GHWCC Program of Work. The Program of work helps in the advancement and positioning of women and girls in the greater Houston area.

The Conference Co-Chairs were Loretta Cross, Managing Director, STOUT and Shawn Taylor, President and CEO, Zaxby’s Houston LLC and Special Assistant to the Chairman Houston Astros.
The Breakfast Co-Chairs were Denise Castillo-Rhodes, EVP & CFO, Texas Medical Center, and Ayse McCracken, President, eNNOVATE Health Ventures.
The Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit business organization of highly influential and diverse women and men dedicated to the advancement and empowerment of women through avenues of leadership, education, advocacy, and mentoring. For more information, visit



Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce | 3201 Kirby Dr., Suite 400 Houston, TX 77098 | 713.782.3777

© 2017 Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved. Powered by ASTOUNDZ